A Photo Diary of Wildlife in South Africa

Over summer I volunteered at a game reserve in South Africa. Seeing animals in the wild and well-cared for in rehabilitation centres and sanctuaries was everything I hoped it would be. I took my Canon DSLR 1200D, mostly using my telephoto lens, and tried my best to do the majestic, beautiful animals justice.

 

IMG_3618

This white lion was in the big cat rehabilitation centre in Kwantu Game Reserve

IMG_4177

A giraffe wandering in Kwantu Game Reserve

IMG_4760

A squirrel monkey in Monkeyland, Plettenberg Bay

IMG_4325

I finally saw a lion in the reserve on my last day! 

IMG_4382

Zimbali the cheetah at Tenikwa Wildlife Awareness Centre

IMG_0079

A great white showing its teeth whilst shark diving in Mossel Bay

IMG_0004

I fell in love with these marmosets at Kwantu Game Reserve

IMG_3690

Zebras in Kwantu Game Reserve

IMG_4429

A leopard climbing a tree at Tenikwa Wildlife Awareness Centre

IMG_8782

A tiger originally bought over to South Africa as a pet, now in a rehabilitation centre

IMG_3895

At Kwantu Elephant Sanctuary

IMG_4354

A vervet monkey wandering around Kwantu

IMG_4486

A serval cat at Tenikwa Wildlife Awareness Centre

IMG_3939.jpg

White lion cubs at Kwantu Big Cat Rehabilitation Centre

IMG_4631

A caracal at Tenikwa Wildlife and Awareness Centre. I was also lucky enough to see one of these on my night drive at Kwantu Game Reserve!

IMG_4269

A good one to end on. Father and son walking in Kwantu Game Reserve

22 thoughts on “A Photo Diary of Wildlife in South Africa

      1. Hi!

        My name is Shakir from Kwantu Private Game Reserve.

        It is great for us to see that you enjoyed your volunteering experience with us.

        I must also add that your wildlife photos are stunning.

        Thanks for spending some time at Kwantu and for sharing your experience with others.

        We hope to have you back at Kwantu again in the near future.

        Regards
        Shakir

        Like

  1. Your photos are amazing! I so want to go to Africa – and definitely will invest in a lens with a good zoom before I do!

    Like

  2. Great photos. I live in South Africa and game reserves are my happy place. I haven’t been to Kwantu yet but I’ve been to many others. Glad you enjoyed your time here.

    Like

  3. These photos are INCREDIBLE! I got chills over the great white shark picture, I am so impressed by your photography skills! Could you give more info on where exactly you stayed while there and for how long?

    Like

    1. hi Sophia, thank you so much! I stayed on Kwantu Game Reserve for 2 weeks volunteering. At the weekends I visited Jeffereys Bay where we stayed in a hostel called Island Vibes and I also visited Plattenberg Bay where we stayed in another hostel (sorry I don’t remember the name). We visited Mossel Bay from here which is where we did the shark diving. Hope this helps.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Stunning photography! I love that shark picture too. You just reconfirmed my belief that South Africa is the most beautiful and diverse country on the planet. We’ll be going back!

    Like

Leave a Reply

