Afternoon Tea on Top of London

img_03831

It’s not every day we get to experience luxury. For me these moments are, in fact, fairly rare. I love going for afternoon tea as a treat: sandwiches, scones, cake and tea… What’s not to like? One of the most luxurious places I’ve had it was up the Shard. I was lucky enough to be treated to this as I went with my boyfriend’s family.

img_03032

We had the tea at Shangri-La Hotel in the Shard and got a seat by the window. The views were fantastic.

img_03591

img_03711

What better way to start a luxurious afternoon tea than with champagne?

img_03271

img_03491

The champagne was nice, but the sandwiches were out of this world. Smoked salmon and cream cheese is always my favourite so that was a win. There was an apple and mayonnaise sandwich which tasted surprisingly good. There were also brioche buns filled with egg mayonnaise, and another with crab meat. I must have eaten over 10 sandwiches. I just couldn’t resist; I was in heaven.

img_0368

I had a green tea alongside the food which tasted wonderful and pure.

img_03841

The next tier of the afternoon tea was the scones. Freshly baked, warm, melt-in-your-mouth scones. I could have eaten 10 of those as well!

img_0361

The final tier was the desserts. There was a panna cotta topped with a macaroon which I enjoyed. There was also a mango cheesecake and a mascarpone and chocolate cake. These tasted good but my heart was already stolen by the sandwiches.

img_03621

I couldn’t get enough of the view over London and took so many photos with my DSLR.

img_03801

img_02912121

img_04111

img_03211

I loved my experience of afternoon tea up the Shard, on top of the London. It’s one of those experiences that is so luxurious that you savour it as doesn’t happen very often. I love dressing up for things like this once in a while but I’m equally as happy in my jeans at the pub for a fish and chips with mushy peas.

img_02852

2 thoughts on “Afternoon Tea on Top of London

  1. This is on my list! Do you know how far your boyfriend’s family booked in advance? I was trying to reserve for a Saturday next month and it was all booked up!

    Like

Leave a Reply

