A Perfect Day in Mykonos

 

image

Mykonos truly looks like a scene from a postcard. It’s white streets are covered with with pops of colour; this classic Greek look of whitewashed buildings is typical of Mykonos. Walking along the smooth stone streets, every turn and corner provides a perfect photo opportunity.

image

image

The Greek island was not my most anticipated stop on the Mediterranean cruise with my partner, but it turned out to be my favourite. Mykonos itself is not very big but I could easily have spent days wandering the streets and admiring it’s charm.

image

image

With no aim of where we were going, we explored the island and climbed to a high point where we were welcomed by a view of the town and the bay. A white sheet lay before us with splashes of blue, yellow and pink. We also stood next to one of Mykonos’ iconic windmills up there.

image

image

The island is full of little shops offering typical, but lovely souvenirs and some high end boutiques. I couldn’t help but be tempted by some wall hangings. Together, three wall hangings cost me €55, which was a little pricey but I knew I wanted them to remember this wonderful place by.

image.jpeg

Later, we were drawn to a stunning restaurant called Familia. Set in the picturesque Goumeniou Square it is covered with bougainvilleas coupled with a perfectly decorated courtyard. I’m debating it to be the prettiest restaurant I have ever dined at and the food was equally pleasing. We ate melt-in-your mouth burgers which my boyfriend considers to be the best burgers he’s ever eaten! Which is saying something, believe me.

image

image

image

We visited the iconic windmills beside the bay which the sea breeze previously powered. The wind was so powerful it might knock you over but it is worth getting up close to these beautifully structured windmills.

image

Another great place to see these windmills from is Little Venice. Set along the water, caffes and houses line the perfect view point of the bay and the windmill.

image

Although I feel like I have seen most of what Mykonos has to offer, I would be love to return and spend longer there. I’d explore the postcard-perfect streets once again whilst experiencing the romantic, idyllic atmosphere.

image

6 thoughts on “A Perfect Day in Mykonos

  1. I love this post! Your pictures really look amazing. I have never visited Mykonos, but would love to do it one day. I knew about the typical classic Greek look of the whitewashed buildings, but never heard about the iconic windmills of Mykonos. They look nice!

    Like

  2. Mykonos is definitely on my list for 2017! I remember hearing that it’s pretty windy there, but now I can see that it was an advantage with the windmills, which is really interesting. Thank you for sharing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

