Roasting Marshmallows and a Magical Walk through Kew Gardens

As twilight falls, the magic begins… on Sunday night the skies were clear whilst my boyfriend and I were eagerly on our way to explore Kew Gardens lit up for Christmas. What better way to get into the Christmas spirit than to follow a twinkling, illuminated trail accompanied by festive music? Each year the gardens light up with a maze of enchanted trees and flickering lights. Considering I live so near to London, I’m disappointed I didn’t know about this magical event sooner. Now in its fourth year, Christmas at Kew Gardens is as wonderful as ever.

image.jpeg

The first thing that caught my eye as we entered the gardens were two giant Christmas trees enticing us to undertake the winter trail.

image.jpeg

More impressive trees surrounded us; they were lit up from underneath to create a wonderful sight and the feeling of being in an enchanted forest.

image.jpeg

As we began the trail soft music started to fill our ears. Ahead of us lay a carpet of light gently flickering in time with the music. We were surrounded by these glowing orbits of light and it was the perfect moment to stand back and enjoy the moment.

image

An intriguing smell wafting through the air enticed us to eventually move on. We glimpsed flickering lights ahead, could it be fire? It was. The scented fire garden was inspired by ‘The 12 Days of Christmas’; circles of fire surrounded each gift. 5 gold rings:

image

A heart shaped disco ball spun in the distance to music reminding me of a wind up jewellery box given to me by my nan. The heart of stars.

image

We continued to wander among the glittering trees with ball balls hanging from their branches. All that was missing were the presents underneath.

image

Ahead of us lay a tunnel of ever changing lights dancing in tune to festive music. Walking through this magnificent tunnel felt surreal, which is no wonder, considering it is lit up by 60,000 lights!

image

image

Next we approached the hive. A tremendous sphere of orange glowing beneath the nights sky. We walked underneath it for a truly magical experience.

image

We’d already walked passed a few places offering tempting food and beverages but the next thing we saw I could not manage to resist. It was a log cabin selling  roasted marshmallows! Not just any marshmallows, huge cubes of marshmallow made of flavours I didn’t know existed. Have you ever tasted a passion fruit and ginger flavoured marshmallow before? How about a mango and sweet orange one? The flavour that won me over in the end was raspberry and champagne. I did not regret it.

image

We headed towards a tent inspired by mistletoe before we walked over a luminous bridge. We saw ahead what looked like a chess board (there’s a future idea for the event!) but turned out to be the impressive magic of candles.

image

I thought that Kew Gardens had already exceeded my expectations more than they ever could. And then we approached the finale…

image.jpeg

image

Was I in Kew Gardens or Disneyland? I couldn’t be sure. All I did know was that I was in awe of what lay ahead of me. The Palm House Pond was bought to life with laser beams, fountains and lights dancing in time to Christmas classics.

image

Wow.

I left Kew Garden knowing I had experienced something very special. Something that I hope to return to year after year. If you are in London this Christmas, I can’t imagine anything more festive than Christmas as Kew Gardens.

Practical information
Wrap up warm, it gets chilly!
We took our time walking round and did so in 2 hours.
I’d advise buying tickets online in advance to avoid disappointment on the day. The tickets were £18 online.

How to get there
Kew Gardens underground station is on the District Line. Make sure you get the right train as the District Line breaks off in different directions. From Mile End we needed to get the train towards Richmond.
Once off the tube, follow the exit to the Royal botanical gardens and walk 5 minutes down the road straight opposite and you will arrive at Kew Gardens.

13 thoughts on “Roasting Marshmallows and a Magical Walk through Kew Gardens

  1. We’re really missing christmas, being in Asia this year. We’ll have to check this out whenever we’re back in the UK for christmas, looks amazing.

    Like

  2. I lived in London for over two years, yet somehow never made it to Kew Gardens. Even more mad at myself, now! London is definitely one of my favourite places to be for Christmas – it’s like nowhere else in the world. Love your photos!

    Like

  3. I went there last week. I normally am very appreciative when a place I go to is Christmas-themed because I am obsessed with this holiday but I was quite disappointed with Kew Gardens that I can’t even bear to write about it. Lol. I don’t really know why but I guess it’s the ticket amount (even if I didn’t even pay for mine as I got it for free) which I think isn’t worth the value specially since there are other places in the city we can go to for free during this period. I guess with that amount, I was expecting a more extravagant displays.

    I would definitely recommend it for kids though as I’ve seen so many of them there and they were all dazzled and mesmerized by it all specially with the playground and the Father Christmas show.

    The musical fountain and lights show at the end was the one thing I loved about it. I agree, I also thought I was in Disneyland then and the show was also quite moving. Specially for someone like me who has this crazy Christmas obsession. :-p

    Like

    1. It’s a shame that we had such different experiences at Kew Gardens. I’m also obsessed with Christmas and for me it completely lived up to the hype. I see what you mean about the price, it is probably more than I expected but I would pay it again in the future because, again, for me it went beyond my expectations. The only part I didn’t like was the DJ as I found that a but cheesey and took slightly away from the atmosphere.

      I agree that kids would love it too and I couldn’t get enough of the fountain display at the end, definitely my favourite part! Thanks for taking the time to read my post and comment 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

