My Top 10 Dishes Around the World

If you know me, then you will know that I am obsessed with food. I’m constantly thinking about my next meal and putting ingredients together in my head. I love trying new types of food and have been fortunate to enjoy many fantastic meals around the world. However, I’ve not been to nearly as many countries as I’d like to, so I hope that, in time, I’ll have many more dishes to add to this list. Here are the ones I’ve enjoyed the most around the world so far.

Margarita pizza in where it was invented

Pizzeria Brandi in Naples, Italy, was accredited as the creators of margarita pizza in 1889. I wasn’t sure what to expect before my first bite, surely pizza couldn’t get much better than what I’ve already had? Somehow it exceeded all my expectations. The dough was home-made and topped with the most delicious tomato topping I have ever had. It was freshly made with sweet tomatoes which I later found out were picked from the slopes near Mount Vesuvius, explaining their unique, heavenly taste. The tomato was topped with melted mozzarella with basil leaves scattered on top. Every bite was incredible.

img_1858

Codizo in the Azores

The volcanic region of Furnas in Sao Miguel, Azores, serves a traditional dish like no other. This dish is cooked underground from the heat of the volcano! Codizo contains chicken, beef, pork, sausages and an array of vegetables. Although it tasted delicious, it wasn’t the best thing I’ve ever tasted, but knowing it was cooked from the heat of the volcano won it for me; especially after seeing it being pulled out of the ground.

image

Cheese fondue in Switzerland

There’s nothing more bliss than sitting in a Swiss cafe with views of the mountains whilst eating a cheese fondue. A pot of melted cheese is placed in the middle of the table and kept on a slow burn whilst diners around the table dip in cubes of bread. I found the traditional Swiss streets in Gruyere my favourite place to enjoy this dish. It is traditional to eat it in the winter when snow is on the ground but I, and many others, enjoyed this dish in the summer too.

image

Afternoon tea in London

Being British, perhaps it’s in my bones to love afternoon tea and there are so many unique places to enjoy it around London. My favourite being in the Shangri-La up The Shard. The sandwiches were to die for. Smoked salmon and cream cheese is always my favourite so that was a win. There was an apple and mayonnaise sandwich which tasted surprisingly good. There were also brioche buns filled with egg mayonnaise, and another with crab meat. I must have eaten over 10 sandwiches. I just couldn’t resist.

img_03591

Mango and Sticky rice in Thailand

Mango and sticky rice is a popular Thai dessert made of glutinous rice, fresh mango and coconut milk. I remember walking down the busy Khao San Road to buy mango and sticky rice for both breakfast, lunch and dinner. I couldn’t get enough! Although it has a sweet taste I found the rice to be substantial enough to suffice a main meal.

562186_10150853257506601_144728109_n

Chocolate in Australia

When I think about food in Australia one of the main things I remember is the chocolate cafes. So many chocolate cafes full of chocolate pizza, chocolate fondue, hot chocolate and much more. My favourite chocolate café was the Lindor cafe situated in Sydney. They had every flavour of chocolate you can imagine and the hot chocolate consisted of a jug of melted Lindor chocolate alongside a jug of milk… I ignored the milk!

a484133_10150911447596601_1853471037_n

Duck banquet in China

Many of the foods we consider ‘Chinese’ in England I never saw in China. I didn’t see any spring rolls, prawn toast, satay chicken or prawn crackers but I was very happy with what I had, especially the duck banquet. This was my last night in Beijing and was included in my G Adventures tour package and it was magnificent. So much duck and different sauces. I was glad to have a big appetite: I ate a lot and enjoyed every bite.

aDSC02197.jpg

Street food in Penang

The street food around Penang was spectacular. My favourite place to eat was Red Gardens Food Court. It was so hard to decide what to order out of all the amazing options that I ended up ordering 6 dishes! I had bamboo charcoal rice, tempura prawns, 2 oysters, dumplings and fried ice cream. I also shared spring rolls with the girls. It was my best meal throughout my whole time in Malaysia!

dsc00041

Tagine in Marrakesh

I have never visited anywhere with a cuisine as colourful as Morocco’s. The vibrant fusion of yellow saffron, green parsley and the colourful vegetables make any Moroccan dish a feast for the eyes before even tasting a mouthful. The tagine I tried in Marrakesh did not disappoint. They are slow-cooked stews typically made with meat or fish with vegetables. The flavours of all the spices, meats and vegetables fused together is like nothing else.

IMG_0729.JPG

Meat fondue in France

If you know me then you will know that my favourite main meal is steak. So when I was introduced to a meal where I could cook each bite-full of steak exactly to my liking, I was hooked. I found it to be the perfect way to end a day skiing and the meal served with French fries is a win win.

img_5209

Seafood Paella in Spain

Paella is a traditional saffron-infused Spanish dish with meats and vegetables. I always opt for a seafood paella and have enjoyed it since I can remember. It is a sociable meal where diners congregate around a pan of paella and help themselves. I didn’t realise until recently that paella is actually pronounced “pa-eh-ya”

 

Have you tried any of these dishes or are there any you’d add to the list? Feel free to leave a comment and let me know.

Design.png

 

 

24 thoughts on “My Top 10 Dishes Around the World

  1. Oh wow! I may have just had my breakfast but this has now made me very hungry again. I’m jealous of you being able to try Naples pizza – it looks incredible and definitely something for me to try one day! I love the idea of food being cooked by an underground volcano – I’ve not heard of something like that before!! Anyway, there are some really tasty looking dishes on here and I just love how you’ve included foods from around the world… yum! 🙂

    Like

    1. The pizza in Naples was incredible, part of me wants to return just to eat that pizza again! It was great eating the food cooked from the heat of the volcano because we’d seen it lifted out the ground that morning, such an experience! Thank you 😀

      Like

  2. Your post has left me craving the mango sticky rice I had when I was in Thailand haha! Also, with a bit of luck I might visit Morocco next year so I`m looking forward to try their dishes. ❤

    Like

    1. I’ve tried to find the mango and sticky rice in a Thai restaurant in England but I haven’t been successful. I guess I’ll just have to return! The food in Morocco is so colourful and delicious, I hope you enjoy it.

      Like

  3. Not a lot of people I know and come across with like mango sticky rice so I’m quite surprised it made the list! And it’s great you appreciate the combination even as a non-asian! 😉 Sounds like I’ll enjoy Moroccan dishes! It’s the only one I haven’t tried yet from this list!

    Like

  4. You’ve made me so hungry after reading this and I’ve just had dinner haha! I found myself agreeing with every point! The pizza in naples is just divine. I never would have thought chocolate cafes are so popular in Aussie! Will have to try one when I go next!

    Like

  5. Hey there!! My favourite is the one for Thailand and the Tea in London! I am food and travel blogger and i am always fascinated with these kind of posts! Love you post!! 🙂

    Like

    1. I loved the mango and sticky rice, it was divine. I’m also a fan of afternoon teas, there are so many nice places to have them in London. Thanks so much, glad you enjoyed it 🙂

      Like

    1. Likewise, I’m so sad I haven’t been able to found anywhere serving mango and sticky rice in England. I loved the street food in Asia. I’m heading to Sri Lanka this year so I hope the food’s as good there!

      Like

Leave a Reply

