Sailing Through Kotor Bay, Including the Best Sunset I Have Ever Seen

I’m surprised to say that one of my favourite experiences whilst cruising this summer was on board the ship: sailing through the bay of Kotor, Montenegro. Waking up at 5:30 (which you think I’d be used to by now!) to witness the 2 hour sail in was completely worth the bags under my eyes. The views either side were incredible.

img_2810

img_2817

IMG_2818.jpg

The sea was lined with mountainous hills where picturesque villages lay at the bottom. There were some fantastic-looking houses along the edge of the water and I imagined what it must be like to live there or have one as a holiday home. Waking up to that view everyday must be happiness itself.

img_2883

img_2848

When the sun was out the mountains seemed to shimmer.

img_2929

Me and my partner Mike were overwhelmed by the beauty around us.

IMG_2908.JPG

img_2901

We were lucky enough to be sailing back through the bay at sunset. The way the red light hit the top of these rocks was something I’ve never seen before. It didn’t look real.

img_3130

And the other side of the ship wasn’t bad to look at either. I think it deserves my vote of the best sunset I have ever seen.

img_3134

Design

Design
14 thoughts on “Sailing Through Kotor Bay, Including the Best Sunset I Have Ever Seen

  1. Wow, these pictures are really stunning. I already heard that Montenegro looks really nice and you just showed proof of that. I also find that the landscape looks a lot like Greece, especially around the Ionian islands.

    Like

  2. Wow, those are really stunning views all around! This is one part of the planet I haven’t visited, but would love to – hopefully sooner than later!

    Like

  3. thats beautiful, really 🙂 I never sailed or have been on a boat really (unless you count a ferry) but I heard already a lot that sunset and sunrises are the best seen from the sea! Or a lake I guess 🙂

    Like

  4. We too have sailed into Kotor at Sunrise – twice – an so it is indeed truly breathtakingly. One of the most beautiful natural harbours in the world

    Like

  5. I’ve always wanted to go on a cruise. I want to watch life pass by at my pace and not hurry around visiting famous spots. Don’t get me wrong. I love my flurry of activity but sometimes you need a break.

    Like

  6. Beautiful photos! And I agree, I used to work in cruising and waking at 5:30am is total worth it for the great views and quiet ship!

    Like

  7. We visited Kotor last year and it sure is breathtaking. I love the scenery in Montenegro with the hills and mountains and also the ocean all in one frame. That sunset does look amazing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

