Eguisheim, a Fairytale Town in France

Many people have never heard of Eguisheim, so if you’re one of them you might be wondering where on Earth this place is, and I wouldn’t blame you if Germany first comes to your mind. Although the name sounds German, Eguisheim is actually in France in the beautiful Alsace region. The German name originates from when the area was under German control.

Apart from the wine, one of the reasons to visit the Alsace region is for the charming, medieval towns and Eguisheim is certainly that. Walking through this town is like stepping into a fairytale. Here I discovered a real treasure in the Alsace. With the unique buildings, delightful courtyards and fountains, it would be hard not to fall in love with this charming place.

IMG_1126.JPG

On one of our mother and daughter trips, my mum and I visited Strasbourg. We planned to spend one day visiting Colmar and, after seeing so many glorious photographs of the place, we headed there with high expectations. Unfortunately it wasn’t quite what we expected. I could see the potential charm hiding behind the various building works and Easter markets.  Howerver, it it did not live up to our fairytale expectations.

Then the idea of Eguisheim was given to us by the tourist office. Without knowing anything about the place, we hopped on a bus and were on our way. As soon as we arrived, we knew we’d made the right decision. We were greeted by cobbled streets, unique timber houses, dazzling courtyards and fountains. We were immediately charmed by the beautiful houses lining the streets and I knew already that this was going to be one of my favourite places in the Alsace region.

IMG_1123 (10)

IMG_1119.JPG

When we arrived at a courtyard with a fountain in the middle and a castle-looking building in the background, I felt like we’d walked into a scene from Beauty and the Beast.

IMG_1014

We had lunch at this square in the sun whilst admiring the beauty around us.

IMG_1070.JPG

The streets were so peaceful, especially compared to the sea of people in Colmar.

IMG_1154 (12).jpg

IMG_1012

There was another courtyard that truly took my breath away. I felt like I’d stepped into a fairytale.

IMG_1009.JPG

IMG_1006

I loved how so many streets and houses were decorated for Easter without being too over the top or taking away from the charm.

IMG_1235

There are many wineries around the town. If we hadn’t already enjoyed a fantastic tour through the Alsace wine route, or if we’d had more time, we would have probably tried one.

The circular town is surrounded by vineyards which are lovely to walk up. If you stroll along the wine trail you will be welcomed by views of the vineyards all around.

IMG_1116.JPG

After the trail up the vineyards we entered the chapel next to the ‘castle’. I was upset to find we couldn’t look inside the ‘castle’ but the interior of the chapel made up for that. It is debatably the most beautiful and understated chapels I have ever laid my eyes on

IMG_1122.JPG

Soon before we left, I looked up towards the ‘castle’ for one last glimpse and noticed two storks watching over us. The sunlight shining behind them created a wonderful silhouette. You can also see their nest to the right.

IMG_1135.JPG

It’s a shame that I didn’t fall in love with Colmar the way I had anticipated. I’d like to visit again at a different time of year to see it in all it’s glory. I did however, completely fell in love with the traditional charm of Eguisheim and I can safely say that it is one of the most beautiful towns I have ever had the pleasure of visiting.

Eguisheim, a Fairytale Town in the Alsace

14 thoughts on “Eguisheim, a Fairytale Town in France

  1. Oh wow, stunning photos. Eguisheim looks magical, I expected Belle to come round the corner singing by the fountain!

    Like

  2. THIS TOWN IS SO CUTE. I love the architecture so much. I’m always a sucker for medieval towns…and I need to spend more time exploring France!

    Like

  3. When I lived in Colmar, a friend and I decided to walk to Eguisheim as the bus service didn’t seem to be running. It was such a charming little village, and I was so glad we’d made the effort. Colmar definitely draws in the crowds, especially during the Christmas and Easter markets, so it’s nice to escape to more peaceful spots! Riquewihr was another of my favourite little towns in Alsace 🙂

    Like

    1. I bet you saw Colmar in a different light to me whilst living there. I’d love to go back and see it another time. How long did it take you to walk there? I bet it was definitely worth the effort. I also loved Riquewihr, wish I could have spent longer there! The colourful houses were mesmerising.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I think everyone sees places differently, though spending an extended period of time somewhere does mean you attach more memories to a place. I loved the ambience during the Christmas markets! I think it took us somewhere between an hour and an hour and a half, but it was a while ago now! Alsatian villages are so picturesque and fairy tale like!

        Like

  4. It is such a charming little village ! Eguisheim is a colorful village that looks like something straight out of a fairytale. The winding cobblestone streets are lined with traditional medieval half-timbered brightly-painted buildings. Simply beautiful 🙂

    Like

  5. What a beautiful little place! It does look like a very German town but I can believe it’s in France 🙂 and you’re right – it’s straight out of a fairytale. Great find, thanks for sharing!

    Like

  6. I literally go look for this kind of little towns everywhere in the world: I just love them SO much. Eguisheim looks like Belle’s village in Beauty and the Beast, how cute! This goes straight to our bucket list, thank you!

    Like

  7. It really does look like the set of Beauty and the Beast, how adorable! I fall in love with Europe the more of it I see. I had never heard of this place before and now I know I need to go 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

