A Photo Tour of the Unique and Glorious Majorelle Garden

Majorelle Garden

img_0682

One of the world’s great gardens, Jardin Majorelle was created by  the French artist Jacques Majorelle in the 1920s. I fell in love with the numerous exotic plants, peaceful courtyards and pops of colour immediately. Located in the downtown area of Marrakesh’s new town, the a 12 acre botanic garden was my favourite thing we saw in Marrakesh.

img_0700

In 1980, Yves Saint-Laurent and his partner fell in love with the gardens (I can see why) and subsequently bought them to protect them from destruction.

IMG_0702.JPG

As soon as I entered the gardens I was overwhelmed by the incredible colours surrounding me, including ‘majorelle blue’.

img_0668

Walking through this garden inspired me to paint my garden pots these colours one day.

img_0624

img_0695

Even the walls alone are worth photographing.

img_0710

I could have sat to admire the collections of cacti, exotic plants and trees, landscaped to emphasise their unique beauty, all day…

img_0619

IMG_0719.JPG

…but then I would have missed out on the burbling ponds covered in sheets of water lilies and lotus flowers.

img_0663

img_0666

Inside the garden, I would recommend entering the Islamic Art Museum of Marrakesh which houses ethnic textiles, costumes and jewellery.

Don’t forget to visit the Yves Saint-Laurent ‘Love’ gallery too, displaying a collection of love posters designed by Yves Saint-Laurent over 35 years.

IMG_0711.JPG

 

Tips: arrive early to avoid the crowds as coach tours arrive later in the day. Take a decent camera, you’ll want to photograph each corner of the gardens!

8 thoughts on “A Photo Tour of the Unique and Glorious Majorelle Garden

    1. Thanks so much. I agree, the colours are wonderful. No I haven’t but I’ve heard so much about it and seen lots of photos. Your pictures are stunning. I’d love to go there!

      Like

  1. Gorgeous photos ! I love the vibrant colours dominated by the “Majorelle blue” 🙂 Collections of cacti, exotic plants and trees are landscaped to emphasize each one’s unique beauty !

    Like

Leave a Reply

